The Manor Kilbride PURE Mile begins at Manor House and ends at Ballyward Bridge. It takes in some well known landmarks in addition to some lesser known. Some of the hidden gems described in the report below tell us about the former Glen Heste Hotel with its own private Air Strip, the Lime Kiln, The Mill Race, the stone in the church wall bearing the date 1767 that was rescued from the Old Blessington bridge before the flooding of the Liffey Valley in 1939, the Golden Hill Mass Path and connections with some famous buildings such as the Customs House, the Four Courts, Kings Inn and Nelson’s Pillar. The more recent associations with the the film Braveheart are also described together details of community efforts, and the excellent research on local archaeology and history as well as birds, flora, insects and wildlife of the area as carried out by local schoolchildren at St. Brigid’s N. S.
Winner of the ‘Best Litter Free’ award in 2015.
Please click on the PDFs below to view their excellent reports.