Wicklow Wins Two Awards


Wicklow has taken two of the top prizes in the annual IPB Co-operation Ireland Pride of Place Awards where they faced competition from all over the country.

Carnew Community Care won top prize in the Age Friendly Community Initiative category while Tiglin took runner-up position in the Community Health Initiative category.

The awards were presented at a ceremony in Ennis, Co Clare, at the weekend before an audience of 800 people from around the country.   The winners were announced by RTE’s Ciana Campbell.

In their citation the judges said of Carnew: “The winner in this category concerns a community of which the judges said that it would be difficult if not impossible to find a more comprehensive range of facilities and initiatives to assist the elderly than those provided in this rural village. The quality and extent of sheltered housing and an excellent community building further endorse this wonderful model village as a standard bearer in Elderly Care”.

The judges were extremely impressed with the quality and ethos of the services offered in Tiglin Rehabilitation Centre in Ashford, highlighting the fact that Tiglin endeavours to help people become mentally sound, emotionally balanced, socially adjusted, physically well and spiritually alive.  They added: “The Centre provides individuals with an effective and comprehensive solution to life controlling addiction problems in order to become productive members of society.  What Tiglin has to offer is quite unique with an exceptional success rate.”

Congratulating the two Wicklow winners, Cllr John Ryan, Cathaoirleach of Wicklow County Council said:  “In every community there are ordinary people doing extraordinary things – you are all a part of that and this is what we are celebrating.” 

 Chief Executive of Wicklow County Council, Mr Bryan Doyle, commended the prize winners and also congratulated the representatives from the other two Wicklow entries, Be Well Bray and Wicklow Town, on their commitment to and enthusiasm for the Pride of Place competition.  He added that Wicklow County Council will continue to work “with the community, in the community and for the community”.

 The Pride of Place Awards recognise and celebrate the achievements of people who work tirelessly to create pride in their local area and a better place for local residents. Forty-three groups, ranging from those in small rural communities to groups in inner-city housing estates, took winning or runner-up positions in the main and cities competitions. A further six groups received Special Awards, while one local authority received a special Council Award.

  The winners received their awards from Cllr Mary Howard, Leas Cathaoirleach, Clare County Council;  Ronan Foley, Chief Executive IPB;  John Bruton, former Taoiseach and deputy Chairman Co-operation Ireland;   Tom Dowling, Chairman Pride of Place Committee and George Jones, Chairman IPB.  

 Mr Tom Dowling, founder of the event and Chair of the Pride of Place Committee, said: “Even after 13 years, I and the rest of the judges continue to be amazed at how communities from all over the island demonstrate their amazing capacity to care for the people in their communities and respect their heritage, culture and environment.  I also pay particular thanks to the local authorities all over the island of Ireland, Co-operation Ireland and IPB Insurance for their ongoing support for this unique community competition.”

 Mr Peter Sheridan, Chief Executive, Co-operation Ireland said: “For Co-operation Ireland, the Pride of Place competition embodies the ethos of the organisation and it shows how working together ordinary people can make a real positive change on society. I congratulate everyone who participated in year’s competition, but especially the winners.”

No Comments

Start the ball rolling by posting a comment on this page!

Add a comment about this page

Your email address will not be published.